

EXTRAORDINARY PUBLISHED BY AUTHORITY

No. 444

Imphal, Monday, February 4, 2019

(Magha 15, 1940)

GOVERNMENT OF MANIPUR SECRETARIAT : LAW & LEGISLATIVE AFFAIRS DEPARTMENT

NOTIFICATION

Imphal, the 4th February, 2019

No. 2/7/2018-Leg/L: The following Ordinance promulgated by the Governor of Manipur on 01-02-2019 is hereby published in the Manipur Gazette for general information:

THE MANIPUR LOKTAK LAKE (PROTECTION) (THIRD AMENDMENT)
ORDINANCE, 2019

(Manipur Ordinance No. 1 of 2019)

Promulgated by the Governor of Manipur in the Seventieth Year of the Republic of India.

An

Ordinance

further to amend the Manipur Loktak Lake (Protection) Act, 2006.

WHEREAS the Manipur Legislative Assembly is not in session and the Governor of Manipur is satisfied that circumstances exist which render it necessary for her to take immediate action;

NOW, THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers conferred by clause (1) of article 213 of the Constitution of India, the Governor of Manipur is pleased to promulgate the following Ordinance:

1. (1) This Ordinance may be called the Manipur Loktak Lake (Protection) (Third Amendment) Ordinance, 2019.

Short title and commencement

(2) It shall come into force at once.

2. In the Manipur Loktak Lake (Protection) Act, 2006 (hereinafter referred to as the Principal Act), for section 7, the following shall be substituted, namely:—

Substitution of section 7.

"7. Composition of the Loktak Development Authority.-

The Authority shall consist of the following members, namely-

- 1. Chairman (to be appointed by State Chairman Government)
- 2. Vice-Chairman (to be appointed by State Vice-Government) Chairman
- 3. Member of Legislative Assembly, Nambol Member Assembly Constituency
- 4. Member of Legislative Assembly, Oinam Member Assembly Constituency
- 5. Member of Legislative Assembly, Member Bishnupur Assembly Constituency
- 6. Member of Legislative Assembly, Moirang Member Assembly Constituency
- 7. Member of Legislative Assembly, Thanga Member Assembly Constituency
- 8. Member of Legislative Assembly, Kumbi Member Assembly Constituency
- 9. Member of Legislative Assembly, Wangoi Member Assembly Constituency
- 10. Member of Legislative Assembly, Mayang Member Imphal Assembly Constituency
- 11. Member of Legislative Assembly, Member Hiyanglam Assembly Constituency
- 12. Member of Legislative Assembly, Wabgai Member Assembly Constituency
- 13. Administrative Secretary (Forest & Member Environment), Government of Manipur
- 14. Administrative Secretary (Finance), Member Government of Manipur
- 15. Administrative Secretary (Planning), Member Government of Manipur
- 16. Administrative Secretary (Revenue), Member Government of Manipur
- 17. Administrative Secretary (Water Member Resources), Government of Manipur

- 18. Administrative Secretary (Power), Member Government of Manipur
- 19. Administrative Secretary (Agriculture), Member Government of Manipur
- 20. Administrative Secretary (Horticulture), Member Government of Manipur
- 21. Administrative Secretary (Fisheries); Member Government of Manipur
- 22. Secretary (Law), Government of Manipur Member
- 23. Vice-Chancellor, Central Agriculture Member University, Manipur or his Representative
- 24. Deputy Commissioner, Bishnupur, Member Government of Manipur
- 25. Deputy Commissioner, Imphal West, Member Government of Manipur
- 26. Deputy Commissioner, Thoubal. Member Government of Manipur
- 27. Chief Engineer (Water Resources), Member Government of Manipur
- 28. Chief Engineer (Power), Government of Member Manipur
- 29. Principal Chief Conservator of Forest, Member Government of Manipur
- 30. Director Environment, Government of Member Manipur
- 31. Director (Agriculture). Government of Member Manipur
- 32. Director (Horticulture), Government of Member Manipur
- 33. Director (Tourism), Government of Member Manipur
- 34. Director (Fisheries), Government of Member Manipur
- 35. Director (Settlement), Government of Member Manipur
- 36. Chief Engineer, National Hydro-electric Member Power Corporation Limited, Loktak
- 37. 3 (three) non-Official members to be Members nominated by the Government
- 38. Project Director, Loktak Development -Member Authority Secretary

3. For section 8 of the Principal Act, the following shall be substituted, namely:-

Substitution of section 8.

- "8. Terms and Conditions of Services of Chairman/ Vice-Chairman/ Non-official Members: The terms of office and conditions of service of the Chairman/ Vice Chairman/ non-official member of the Authority shall be such as may be prescribed by the State Government."
- 4. In section 9 of the Principal Act, for sub-section (i), the following shall be substituted, namely:-

Amendment of Section 9.

- "(i) The Chairman/ Vice-Chairman may at any time, by writing under his hand addressed to the State Government, resign his office; and a non-official Member may at any time, by writing under his hand addressed to the Chairman of the Authority, resign his office.".
- 5. For section 10 of the Principal Act, the following shall be substituted, namely:-

Substitution of Section 10.

- "10. Removal of Chairman/ Vice-Chairman/ Members: The State Government may remove from the Authority Chairman/ Vice-Chairman or any Member who, in its opinion has
 - (a) been adjudged as an insolvent; or
 - (b) been convicted of an offence which involves moral turpitude; or
 - (c) become physically or mentally incapable of acting as a member, or
 - (d) so abused his position as to render his continuance in office detrimental to the public interest; or
 - (e) acquired such financial or other interest as is likely to affect prejudicially his functions as a member.".

Raj Bhavan, Imphal The 1st February, 2019

DR. NAJMA HEPTULLA Governor of Manipur.