TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE GAZETTE OF INDIA, EXTRAORDINARY, PART II, SECTION 3, SUB-SECTION (i)]

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF FINANCE (DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE)

Notification

No. 63 /2012-Customs

New Delhi, dated the 31st December, 2012

G.S.R. 948 (E).- In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of section 25 of the Customs Act, 1962 (52 of 1962), and in supersession of the notification of the Government of India in the Ministry of Finance (Department of Revenue), No.116/2010-Customs, dated the 1st November, 2010, published in the Gazette of India, Extraordinary, Part II, Section 3, Sub-section (i) vide number G.S.R. 875 (E), dated the 1st November, 2010, except as respects things done or omitted to be done before such supersession, the Central Government, on being satisfied that it is necessary in the public interest so to do, hereby exempts Crude Petroleum oils and oils obtained from bituminous minerals falling under the tariff item 2709 00 00 of the First Schedule to the Customs Tariff Act, 1975 (51 of 1975), when imported into India from Brunei Darussalam, from whole of the duty of customs leviable thereon under the First Schedule to the Customs tariff Act, 1975 (51 of 1975);

Provided that the importer proves to the satisfaction of the Deputy Commissioner of Customs or Assistant Commissioner of Customs, as the case may be, that the goods in respect of which the benefit of this exemption is claimed are of the origin of Brunei Darussalam, in accordance with provisions of the Customs Tariff [Determination of Origin of Goods under the Preferential Trade Agreement between the Governments of Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and the Republic of India] Rules, 2009, published in the notification of the Government of India in the Ministry of Finance (Department of Revenue), No. 189/2009-Customs (N.T.), dated the 31st December 2009.

2. This notification shall come into force with effect from 1st day of January, 2013.

[F. No. 354/64/2003-TRU (Pt.I)]

(Akshay Joshi) Under Secretary to the Government of India