THE FOURTH SCHEDULE

[See section 27(2)]

Local authorities for purposes of elections to Legislative Councils

¹[ANDHRA PRADESH

1.	Municipal	Corporations.
----	-----------	---------------

- 2. Municipalities.
- 3. Nagar Panchayats.
- 4. Cantonment Boards.
- 5. Zila Praja Parishads.
- 6. Mandal Praja Parishads.]

²[BIHAR

- 1. Nagar Parishads.
- 2. Cantonment Boards.
- Nagar Panchayats. 3.
- 4. Zila Parishads.
- 5. Panchayat Samitis.
- 6. Nagar Nigams (Corporations).
- 7. Gram Panchayats.]

³[MADHYA PRADESH

- ⁴[1. Municipalities.
- 2. Janapada Sabhas.
- 3. Mandal Panchayats.
- 4. Cantonment Boards.
- 5. Notified Area Committees.
- 6. Town Area Committees.]]

5****

⁶[MAHARASHTRA

- ⁷[1. Municipalities.
- 2. Cantonment Boards.

4. Zilla Parishad.]]

1. Ins. by Act 1 of 2006, s. 4(b) (w.e.f. 11-1-2006).

^{2.} Subs. by Act 6 of 2003, s. 2, for "BIHAR" (w.e.f. 6-1-2003).

^{3.} Ins. by the Adaptation of Laws (No. 2) Order, 1956.

Subs. by Act 37 of 1957, s. 12 (c) (iii), for the existing entries (w.e.f. 1-11-1956).
The heading "TAMIL NADU" and the entries relating thereto omitted by the Tamil Nadu Legislative Council (Abolition) Act, 1986, s. 5 (w.e.f. 1-11-1986).

^{6.} Ins. by Act 40 of 1961, s. 6 (w.e.f. 20-9-1961).

^{7.} Subs. by Act 2 of 1963, s. 2, for the existing entries (w.e.f. 25-1-1963).

^{8.} Omitted by Act 21 of 1989, s. 5 (w.e.f. 22-5-1989).

¹[KARNATAKA]

- ²[1. City Municipal Corporations.
- 2. City Municipal Councils.
- 3. Town Municipal Councils.
- 4. Town Panchayats.
- 5. Zilla Panchayats.
- 6. Taluk Panchayats.
- 7. Grama Panchayats.
- 8. Cantonment Boards.]]

⁴[TAMIL NADU

- 1. Municipalities, as referred to in article 243Q of the Constitution.
- 2. Panchayat Councils.
- 3. Cantonment Boards.
- 4. District Panchayats referred to in the Tamil Nadu Panchayat Act, 1994 (Tamil Nadu Act 21 of 1994).]

⁵[TELANGANA

- 1. Municipal Corporations.
- 2. Municipalities.
- 3. Nagar Panchayats.
- 4. Cantonment Boards.
- 5. Zila Praja Parishads.
- 6. Mandal Praja Parishads.]

UTTAR PRADESH

- ⁶[1. Municipal Corporations.
- 2. Municipal Councils.
- 3. Zila Panchayats.
- 4. Nagar Panchayats.
- 5. Kshettra Panchayats.
- 6. Cantonment Boards.]

^{1.} Subs. by the Mysore State (Alteration of Name) (Adaptation of Laws on Union Subjects) Order, 1974, s. 3 and Schedule, for "MYSORE" (w.e.f. 1-11-1973).

^{2.} Subs. by Act 29 of 1996, s. 2, for the entries 1 to 5 (w.e.f. 13-9-1996).

^{3.} Omitted by Act 46 of 1969, s. 5 (w.e.f. 7-1-1970).

^{4.} Ins. by Act 16 of 2010, s. 4 (w.e.f. 18-5-2010).

^{5.} Ins. by Act 6 of 2014, s. 23 (w.e.f. 2-6-2014).

^{6.} Subs. by Act 29 of 1996, s. 2, for the entries 1 to 6 (w.e.f. 13-9-1996).

^{7.} Omitted by Act 20 of 1969, s. 5 (w.e.f. 11-8-1969).

^{8.} Omitted by the Adaptation of Laws (No. 2) order, 1956.