THE SCHEDULE

(See section 3)

PROVISIONS OF THE AGREEMENT TO HAVE THE FORCE OF LAW

Article 1

Establishment of the South Asian University

- 1. There is hereby established an institution to be known as the South Asian University (hereinafter referred to as the "University"), which shall be a non-state, non-profit self governing international educational institution with a regional focus for the purposes set forth in this agreement and shall have full academic freedom for the attainment of its objectives.
 - 2. The main campus of the University shall be located in India.
 - 3. The University shall have full legal Personality.
 - 4. The legal capacity of the University shall, *inter alia*, include:
 - (a) the power to confer degrees, diplomas and certificates;
 - (b) the capacity to contract;
 - (c) to sue and be sued in its name;
 - (d) to acquire, hold and dispose of properties;
 - (e) to establish campuses and centres in the region; and
 - (f) to make rules, regulations and bye-laws for the operation of the University.

Article 2

Objectives and Functions of the South Asian University

The objectives and functions of the University shall, inter alia, include:

- 1. To create a world class institution of learning that will bring together the brightest and the most dedicated students from all countries of South Asia irrespective of gender, caste, creed, disability, ethnicity or socio-economic background to impart to them liberal and humane education and to give them the analytical tools needed for the pursuit of a profession and inculcate in them the qualities of leadership.
- 2. To build a South Asian community of learning where every student will be able to develop her/his fullest intellectual potential and to create a South Asian community by strengthening regional consciousness.
- 3. To impart education towards capacity building of the South Asian nations in the domain of science, technology and other areas of higher learning vital for improving their quality of life.
- 4. To contribute to the promotion of regional peace and security by bringing together the future leaders of South Asia, and enhancing their understanding of each others' perspectives.
- 5. To foster in the students sound civic sense and to train them to become useful citizens of democratic societies.

Article 3

Funding

The University shall be non-profit public-private partnership, which will seek support from each of the national Governments of member states and from other sources but will be autonomous and accountable to its board of trustees/governors.

Article 4

The Fiscal Status

- 1. The University and its campuses and centres shall be exempted, in the state where it is located, from paying and from collecting all direct and indirect forms of taxes and duties for the establishment and operations of the University.
- 2. The University shall enjoy treatment in relation to priorities, rates and charges for utilities that are not less favourable than that accorded to state owned enterprises and universities.
- 3. The University has the right to accept *inter vivos* as well as testamentary gifts, contributions, and donations in cash or in kind for the objectives of the University. All such gifts and donations from any legal or physical person are fully deductible without any limit against the income of such donor or contributor in the respective Founding States.
- 4. Taxation and social protection of the citizens of the Founding States employed by the University shall be regulated in accordance with the respective national legislation of the respective States. The employees of the University from countries other than the host country will be governed by the incometax laws of the home countries and will not be taxed as per the laws of the host country.

Article 5

Governance Structure

- 1. The University shall be governed by a Governing Board, composed of two members from each member state, and will be headed by a Chairperson. The Chairperson shall be elected from among the members of the Governing Board.
- 2. Each member of the Governing Board shall serve office for a fixed term of three years and shall not hold office for more than two consecutive terms. The members shall be selected from amongst the distinguished persons from the region and shall be responsible for the overall policies and directions of the University. The powers and functions of the Chairperson of the Governing Board and the role of the Board shall be decided as per the rules and regulations of the University.
- 3. The University shall be headed by a President, appointed by the Governing Board. The appointment, tenure, powers and functions shall be decided as per the rules and regulations of the University.
- 4. The President shall also be the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and an *ex officio* member of the Governing Board. The President as the CEO of the University, will report to the Board and hold office at the pleasure of the Board. He will be responsible for implementing the vision and the foundation statement of the University, ensuring the purpose and objectives of the University, upholding uniformly high academic standards, and fulfilling the policy directives of the Board of the University.
- 5. The President as the Chief Executive Officer of the University shall act under direction of the Governing Board. The President shall be assisted by an Executive Council. The President shall constitute the Academic Council, different committees and appoint the principal officers of the University as per bye-laws.

Article 6

Visa and Resident Permit

The Member States shall provide appropriate visas to the students, faculty and staff for travel in all the SAARC Member States and grant necessary resident permit for students, faculty and administrative staff to work in the University and its different campuses, centres and collaborative educational institutions.

Article 7

Recognition of the Degrees

This Agreement shall facilitate the mutual recognition of degrees and certificates awarded by the University in all the SAARC Member States at par with the degrees and certificates issued by their respective national universities/institutions.